Happy NaNoWriMo!

For those of you participating in NaNoWriMo, I wish you the best of luck, but for me November is the month I finish my novel revisions. I’ve groused about finishing before, and sworn that I would really, really finish it, and now I have run out of excuses. We’re settled into the new house, the kids are back in school, and Black Coffee Fiction Volume Two has been published (Get your copy today!).

This week, I’ve made my edits on chapters one through eight. I’ll need to pick up the pace so I have time to smooth out the continuity errors that are sure to crop up.  Let’s do the math:  if I want to be done with line-edits by November 20, and I have 46 chapters left, I need to finish on average 2.3 chapters a day. That leaves me with 10 days to smooth out continuity errors and give the result a final read-through. Then it’s off to beta-readers for comments.

It looks manageable, a hike rather than a slog. I will keep you all informed.

 

About wadepeterson

Almost old enough to know better.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy NaNoWriMo!

  1. Colleen Sutherland says:

    If you need a reader, let me know. I’ve been waiting long enough! I know how good the first chapters are.

  2. Shane Shafer says:

    I’d also be more than happy to volunteer as a beta reader.

  3. Nikki Kallio says:

    You’ll do wonderfully on the revisions, Wade. I’m doing the same during Nano (even though I want to through my book in the corner right now…)

  4. Colleen Sutherland says:

    I gave my beta reader two chapters of my mystery at a time. She got ahead of me and kept urging me on because she wanted to know how it turned out. It gave me the deadline I needed. Today I got the proof copy!

Leave a comment